‘Not as the World does’

Have you ever realized you were walking in a fog? And wasn’t it great to get out of it?

Recently, I received clarity. Suddenly, all my diligence over the last thirteen years has culminated in my understanding today. After writing for years, and building Laruspress last year, it’s only now that know what it is. It is not a business, it is not a brand; Laruspress is a concept.

SOAR: See Over All Repression

SOAR: See Over All Repression

Laruspress stands for the freedom we have available when we live true to our unique identity. Laruspress’ logo – a seagull flying – is representative of freedom and survival. Our hearts are called to SOAR: to See Over All Repression, and to live without shame, anxiety, fear, oppression. Laruspress is a ministry, seeking to enrich, encourage, enable believers to recognize their full inheritance. Not only are we saved by Jesus from spiritual death. But we are also saved from all the wrong-thinking that we’ve developed and been trapped by through the experiences we’ve lived. Jesus came to set us free and we are free indeed, but most of us lack the fullness of this freedom, in one sense or another. The message is for all of us: Jesus’ salvation is complete and there is nothing that is not dealt with when we choose to follow him.

The message I’ve been given to share is this: you can be who you were created to be, so you can do all you were created to do. There-in lies fulfillment. The task I have is to provide messages, resources and services to those who’ve not yet ‘got’ the concept, so that we all continue to move ahead, toward deeper relationship with Jesus, toward greater acceptance of ourselves and toward establishing God’s Kingdom on earth.

The world does not see my mission the way I do. The world says I need to earn money, establish my name, get an audience. But I’ll make no assumptions now. I was called to write in 2000 and have done all I know how to do in order to grow as a writer. Only now I embrace that it was not for business that I wrote but for enriching my life and others’ lives with my message of freedom. Freedom costs – in time, in responsibility – but living in freedom is a joy.

And so, I discover I have freedom to pursue my writing without the world’s pull to market myself and my books. I’ll still do all I can to get exposure, but now it is for a different reason. It is for my reason, God’s reason, the reason unique to my personality and to my call: to enrich, educate, enable, encourage and equip those who seek to live in the freedom each one of us is created to have.

It is a Kingdom message. All of us need to be who we were created to be, so each of God’s people – and each of God’s messages – gets delivered in just the way it was meant to be.

Do you know what it feels like for me, to finally to have all the pieces of the puzzle fitting together? It feels wonderful!

I can move to the rhythm God put inside me. I can ignore striving and frustration and disappointment. “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” I do not have to think way the world thinks.

How does this awareness effect my efforts? It supercharges them, because I have clarity of purpose and of message. I am focused. And that is, for me, very exciting.

What mission has the LORD given to you? And how will you address it?

Be blessed, and until next time,

Sarah

6 thoughts on “‘Not as the World does’

  1. Thank you so much for this post. I have just recently begun writing in response to a calling God placed on my heart almost 20 years ago. Due to circumstances at the time, I was not in a place to write objectively. It took much growth to reach this point in my life.

    Now I find myself increasingly struggling with being overwhelmed. I find myself saying, “Okay Lord, You have given me this message. You have me the victory over the circumstances. I am writing. Now how do I get the message out there?”

    With love He keeps reminding me to simply take one step at a time, one day at a time. Prepare, learn, and keep writing, but most important of all, keep following. I truly believe He is showing me this is indeed His message and His ministry to be used for His purpose. When and if the doors open to share this message to women in all places, I will surely know it was His doing.

    Your post is confirmation of that promise. Please keep writing. I am believing great things for you and your much-needed message.

    Sincerely,
    Cindy Hester

  2. Thank you so much, Cindy. Your message is equally affirming. Sometimes we write and just don’t know who is benefiting from our words. You have so graciously affirmed my efforts. May God continue to guide and to bless you.

  3. Great blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring
    writers? I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused ..

    Any tips? Cheers!

    • I would encourage you to start a simple blog on either WordPress or on Blogspot. Blogspot (see mine: http:sarahtunexaminelife.blogspot.com ) is easiest to navigate and gives you easy access to posting to your gmail account email list – if you have a gmail account. On the other hand, WordPress has a wider range of options and can ‘grow’ into more of a website, in due course.
      Also, have you heard of Google+? There are many folks on that platform, Christian Authors for example, where you can get more advice and acquire more information.
      Glad you stopped by!

  4. I leave a comment each time I appreciate a post on a site or if I have something to add
    to the discussion. Usually it is caused by the passion displayed in the
    article I looked at. And after this post Not as the World does | lifefromthelighthouse.
    I was excited enough to drop a comment 🙂 I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you do not mind.

    Is it simply me or does it look like like a few of the comments come across as
    if they are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on other sites,
    I’d like to follow you. Could you list every one of your social sites like your
    Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

What would you like to say?

