On the band wagon : Christian Authors

I have been writing forever and as a focus since 2000 when I felt the LORD say “write”.

I have been published for just over a year.

In that time I’ve received a tremendous amount of advice about building the writing as a business. Marketing on the social network has become a part of my day. I’m doing my best to keep up with the trends, demands, opportunities of marketing my book and my work on the net.

But

I’ve come to the realization that following the “write” command – and the encouragement for it – has been relegated to second place.

I want to go back to making it the first place – even if it’s only a hobby. Because there is joy in the writing and much less in all of the ancillary stuff.

Don’t get me wrong, please. If I hadn’t put my back into building a site (www.laruspress.com) and extended my net to reach out to many on facebook (Sarah Tun and page Free to Be – raising self esteem) and on twitter (@laruspress and @disowndredeemd) then I would have missed out on a lot of good people and their posts/tweets/ideas. But this whole aspect to building business is not for me. How do I know? Because I’m muddled rather than clear-headed, and because what I’m doing isn’t unique – as Christ is – but rather I find myself following (rather than leading as is my disposition and calling) and feeling very un-creative.

What shall I do about this? I’ll pray. How do I rectify the situation? I’ll pray. Because the truth is, ‘with God all things are possible’, and because ‘unless the LORD builds the house (I) labour in vain.

So, to all Christian authors out there, I encourage you to write on. And follow God’s lead in all that you do. May you have clarity and breakthrough, and may you be aware in your journey when the LORD is leading you to change. For me, it might be quite possible I’m in for a ‘change’. I’ll keep you posted… literally.

God bless.

4 thoughts on “On the band wagon : Christian Authors

  1. This makes so much sense, Sarah. The publishing world today is saying that it is almost essential for writers to be marketers, publicists, etc. as well as writers — but you’re right, that can take the focus of the whole point which is the writing. If you’re not living out of your gifts and not feeling creative then that’s a sign that something’s not quite right. I know you’ll figure it out. Meanwhile I look forward to reading more of your writing! xo

  2. Thank you for that! Sometimes we all just need to hear those very words: All things are possible through Christ. Even though I’m not even planning on getting published for a while, it’s still really encouraging what you said. 😉 Thanks!!!!

    • I have only just realized, after working on marketing my book and the publishing platform, that mine is a ministry rather than a business. That clarifies for me how to use Laruspress to bring encouragement and revelation (through Christ) to others. The ministry is to enable Believers (and those sympathetic) to walk with self-esteem rather than shame, anxiety or fear — to SOAR: to see over all repression. In this way, they will be free to be all they were created to be, so they can do all they’ve been created to do. This kingdom ministry is God’s call for me to use my gifts and abilities to build/prepare others. Business, job, income are not in contrast but not the emphasis of Laruspress. After being out of my depth for over a year, I’m delighted to know this. It doesn’t change circumstances but it shifts emphasis and lifts burden. To Jessicarichey and others, we can celebrate clarity and enjoy the journey as it unfolds.

What would you like to say?

