Accepting Our Calling

“Many are called, few are chosen”

There are a few things of which I am certain:

1 Jesus is Christ who died and was resurrected.

2 I am saved by the grace of God.

3 The Holy Spirit resides in me to lead me on to serve the LORD God.

Then there are the personal things:

4 I am a child of God called to give birth and to parent one child.

5 I am a Watchman

6 I have been called to write.

Today I come to the blog to comment on the LORD’s call to me to write.

In 2000 I returned from an experience in Hong Kong, where I now have friends and a place in my heart. The events and blessings I received there will be shared some other time. But during that 3 month residence, the LORD spoke into my spirit and said to me clearly to write. I have been doing so ever since.

This blog is aimed at women like me, who love the LORD and are in their middle years. As with all blogs it is available to all. But I would love others to join me who fit into that ‘mould’ and who would like to share their reflections and discoveries during their walk with the LORD.

Today I invite us all to pray, to seek His face, to discern our calling from Him. There will be seasons of harvest and barren seasons, but when we are diligent to follow His call, our lives will be a blessing and will be blessed with His peace and joy.

I have a book now published, several others started and some will come into the public forum. I’ve blogs, contributions to others’ blogs, all sorts of social network offerings. The LORD did not say to earn a living from writing. He did not say minister to others. He said, “write”; and so I write.

What has the LORD said to you? Have you heard? Have you obeyed? “Trust in your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.”

Every blessing to you, creations of the KING.

2 thoughts on “Accepting Our Calling

  1. Thank you for writing this, Sarah. I appreciate the timeliness of many of your posts but I am especially endeared to the timelessness of posts like this. I adore your words “[He] did not say to earn a living from writing. He did not say minister to others. He said, “write”; and so I write. Pray, Sarah, that the Lord will give me a directive.

  2. Thanks Jay. It is so easy to make assumptions and there are times when I’m slogging away at promotion or marketing and thinking, “Shouldn’t it be easier than this to gain readership?” But then I remember that God builds character in us as we follow Him. And so I persevere, knowing my heart and my hope is that people’s lives will be changed by words I’ve written. You give so very much through your blog and your twitter accounts @jay_squires . God has placed so much in you. As you embark on this new phase of your life, may your heart’s desires come to full LIFE, and may you hear God’s voice to direct your path. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

What would you like to say?

