Who We Are In Christ

Power of Prayer:

Of course prayer is powerful. We know that. It can also be directional.

How many of us yearn to fulfill God’s will for our lives and yet wonder why we aren’t managing to quite be in the place we believe God has for us?
How do we find the place He wants us to be?        I believe prayer is the starting point.

Many years ago, when I wanted to know what all the gifts and abilities I had added up to, I sought the LORD. It took me three years of prayer, reading, memorizing scripture, attending meetings and sometimes declaring the scriptures.

“Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

Finally, after 3 years, one afternoon I attended a weekly prayer meeting and a guest speaker was already at the front when I arrived. She was holding up a book called “The Watchman”. I’d attended theology school, I’d read the Bible at least 3 times in entirety, I’d been a follower of Jesus for perhaps fifteen years by this time.

Sarah working under sun umbrella

Alan Tun “Diligence Under Sun Umbrella

“What’s a Watchman?” I thought to myself. I hadn’t heard the term before.

Well, I learned by the end of that talk… I learned through my ears but more importantly I learned through my spirit: I am a Watchman.

A Watchman is one who is gifted to see beyond the natural, both dangers and snares, and I suppose also available blessings . A watchman signposts. Nehemiah was an administrator and set watchmen on the walls of Jerusalem as they rebuilt. Ezekiel was a prophet and a watchman in that God told him he must speak up and warn sinners, or else he’d be as liable for their sin as the sinners themselves.

“Son of man, I have made you a watchman for the house of Israel; therefore hear the word from My mouth, and give them warning from Me….if you warn the righteous man that the righteous should not sin, and he does not sin, he shall surely live because he took warning; also you will have delivered your soul.” Ezekiel 3:17-21

I am a Watchman. The discernment, the call to encourage (and sometimes to exhort), the prophetic edge, the various jobs I’ve had which have utilized these supernatural abilities, all add up to who I was created to be in Christ… and the answer I’d poured so much energy into finding, was revealed after 3 years’ search on a mundane, ‘usual’ day.

We in Christ have much and as we seek we shall find more and more of who we are in Jesus.

Incidentally, my sole identity is not wrapped up in being a Watchman. A am a wife, mother, writer, friend and much more. But now I know in a spiritual sense the sum of my parts. My husband is a Teacher of the Word. Though I am a teacher by training and education in the secular world, that is not my Spiritual Calling.

When I discovered Who I was in terms of gifts and calling, when I had a name for it, I was relieved and overjoyed. I found the balance to the equation: spiritual gifts + natural inclinations = Watchman.

Prayer + Perseverance + Effort + God’s Voice = Calling.

Persist. It’s worth it!

(There are many other scriptural passages to support what I’ve said. Your Concordance and Bible Gateway ( http://www.biblegateway.com/ ) are great tools.)

God bless.

What would you like to say?

